The Department of Political Science at the University of Colorado Boulder has a long and vibrant tradition of excellence in training graduate students. Our diverse faculty of nearly 30 train graduate students to conduct original research in six areas of political science: American government and politics, comparative politics, international relations, political theory, public policy, and research methods.

The department does not accept applications for a terminal Master of Arts in political science. Students in the PhD program earn an MA in political science after the completion of a successful qualifying paper and defense at the end of the second year in the program.